ISO ideas for "English" meal/dessert.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cherry-Rasberry

Assistant Cook
Hi! I’m new to this forum. I’m a French student and I would like to do a meal typically English, when my friends will go at home. I would introduce some culinary specialties from England to them. Have you got an idea of dish and of dessert? I would like recipes, easy does it and cheap. We will be 6 persons.

Thanks!

Cornish Pasties;
Make a basic pastry dough with 6 cups of all purpose flour, and about 2 cups of lard or shortening, and 3 tsp. salt. mix with pastry cutter, or finger tips until the fat and flour combine to make little pea-sized nuggets of dough. Add more flour or fat as needed to achieve this consistancy. When the dough has reached the pea-gravel stage, add 6 tbs. ice water and form into 6 equal balls. Place these into the refrigerator to rest.

Peel six potatoes and 2 rutabeggas (sweades), and two onions, then dice into small cubes, as for a hash. Season with salt and pepper and a tablespoon of garlic powder.

Dice 1 1/2 pounds of beef chuck. Combine the meat and vegetables together in a large bowl. Toss with spoon to mix.

Flour a working surface and roll out 1 dough ball until it makes a thin and round crust. Place 1/2 cup of the filling onto one side of the crust. Fold the crust in half and roll the edges toward the center, pinching as you roll. Do this with all of the dough until you have made 6 pasties. Bake at 375 dgrees F. for 1 hour. Remove and serve with beef gravy.

Or, you could always make your freinds some gruel.:ROFLMAO:

Seeeeeya; Chief Longwind of the North