Bean skins always come off from soaking or cooking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
We like beans, but always have to end up buying canned because every time I try cooking dry beans the skins come off either during soaking or during cooking. I've scoured the internet and cookbooks and always follow the procedure exactly to no avail. It doesn't matter if they are bulk pinto from the Mexican section or gourmet organic cranberry beans, in the pot or the pressure cooker. They all don't come off and break up but half seem to, so it's kinda sloppy.

I'm a pretty good cook, but these things are turning out to be the bane of my cooking existence and I'm sick of having whole cabinets filled with cans of beans. Anybody have a secret to making them perfectly? I watched every video on google, and articles from pressure cooker sites to vegan people explaining the wonders of beans.

Thanks.

Cover the pinto beans with water and bring to a boil. Drain and cover with fresh, cold water. Add salt pork to the beans and bring them to a boil, again. Then cook the beans on a low heat 'till tender. Check the water level frenquently. They should be done in about two hours. I then season to taste, adding onion and garlic, and place a loose lid on top, cooking another hour or so. I never have any skins in the water. Best taste on the third day, so I let 'em rest three days before eating.

No, they start to come off just from cold water soaking. I don't season beans until I am using them in a dish, just oil as it's supposed to help keep the skins on.

Last edited:
Have you tried cooking them in a pressure cooker? Only 5 - 8 minutes using soaked beans.

What kind of beans are you cooking? How often do you stir them?