Beginner Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

will

Cook
Greetings all. Im very new to cooking (although I am young so at least Im starting early). I want to learn how to cook effectively and even start experimenting :) However, Im having some problems.

I love watching "Good Eats" on FoodTV because the host (Alton Brown) not only explains the recipe, he explains the details behind it. He goes into everything that is going on, not just what to add and how long to watch it.

My question is does anyone know of any online resources that provide the same type of information? Sure, I can always just look at recipes, but I really want to understand what is going on so I can think about the logic of it myself.

Oh, and I ask for online resources because im severly limited on income (college student).

Sorry, Im a programmer by nature and always want to know how things work (down to the nitty-gritty). Is anyone else like this?

Thanks for any and all advice in advance!

Welcome, Will! You'll find yourself in some very good company here and it's good to have you join us.

I certainly understand your nature -- I was an MCSE in NT4 and 2000 prior to tech death, and am a big AB fan. Like most SE's, my closet hangers are almost exactly an inch and a quarter apart. Yep, I understand your need for nth detail.

Of course, I don't have a website to recommend to you, but I'm pretty sure that one exists. And if there is ANYONE here who would know what that site is, that person would likely be Wasabi Woman. Send her your question and stand back to be amazed!

Good to have you with us, Will.

Wasabi Woman? is that a user on the board? Not sure I know of her.