"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 09-29-2009, 01:59 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Blanching Chicken Wings?

I have a question about blanching chicken wings.

I am about to start a job working at a restaurant where we will be serving chicken wings... I have never worked with raw chicken wings before for restaurant use, in the past they have all been precooked and frozen.

My question is how do you properly prepare raw chicken wings in a restaurant? How long do you blanch them for? and how do you store them afterwards...and for how long?

Thanks to all who help :)

Old 09-29-2009, 02:46 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

You never blanch chicken. Wings or otherwise. Once you begin the cooking process, you must cook them completely. Partially cooking meats (blanching) creates a prime growth medium for bacteria.

Old 09-29-2009, 02:48 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

So how does a restaurant prepare their wings and get them out in a timely fashion?
Old 09-29-2009, 02:51 PM   #4
Mr. Greenjeans

Steam, then fry.

Bring your steamer up to a boil. Put your wings in a steamer basket and then turn the heat down to medium and steam for about 10 minutes.

This cooks them nicely and removes a lot of excess fat too! Blanching/boiling just pull to much flavor out of the wing and make them overly soggy (water and hot fat! EEK).
Old 09-29-2009, 03:21 PM   #5
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Faust87 View Post
So how does a restaurant prepare their wings and get them out in a timely fashion?

They are fully cooked then just popped into the fryer to crisp them up before service.
Old 09-29-2009, 03:42 PM   #6
Certified Cake Maniac

Is this a new restaurant you will be working in? Otherwise if they are established, they will have specific procedures for cooking the wings already.