"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 01-17-2011, 11:29 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Butter vs. margarine

I am new to baking and trying to figure a few basic things out that I have never learned before.

When baking what is the difference between butter and margarin, and then what is the difference between salted and unsalted. What is the best to use when baking?

Old 01-17-2011, 11:49 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Margarines differ a great deal from one to the other and mostly contain a lot more water and less fat than butter. While this may be a good thing for reducing calories, it's not necessarily a good thing when cooking.

Recipes that call for butter do so for the fat and the flavor. I always use butter as it's a natural and real food. Many margarines contain trans fats.

This is not to say that you can't use margarine in many recipes with reasonable results.

I'd bet you can use regular salted butter in almost every recipe. Unsalted butter is often called for in baking recipes. There's no reason to avoid it. Salted butter tastes much better on toast or bread. If you choose to use salted butter, you can always cut back on added salt in the recipe. Salted butter does not contain all that much salt.

Salt is added to butter for flavor. Back in the old days, it also served as a preservative but with modern refrigeration and production methods, that's really not an issue.

In the USA, sweet cream butter is at least 80% fat. The rest is water and milk solids.

Old 01-17-2011, 12:18 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Agree with Andy M., I also use butter, cause of natural ingredients.
Old 01-17-2011, 12:19 PM   #4
Executive Chef