Can I make stock in my Dutch oven?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blackitty

Assistant Cook
:chef: <-- Not me.

I'm just learning to cook and have already spent a ton of money on kitchen equipment. I now know why people complain about kitchen storage. They cook! This stuff takes up space. I don't want to buy stuff I don't need.

So, can I use my new Dutch oven on the stove for hours to make the stock? Could I cook spaghetti in it? If so, can I do it all the time?

I don't want to break it or shorten it's life span. If a stockpot is required, I'll get one. This spending and spending on kitchen stuff is coming to an end, thank God, but I can buy that, too.

There is SO MUCH to learn. My food processor arrives today. I'm almost afraid of it, lol.

:chef: <-- Not me.

I'm just learning to cook and have already spent a ton of money on kitchen equipment. I now know why people complain about kitchen storage. They cook! This stuff takes up space. I don't want to buy stuff I don't need.

So, can I use my new Dutch oven on the stove for hours to make the stock? Could I cook spaghetti in it? If so, can I do it all the time?

I don't want to break it or shorten it's life span. If a stockpot is required, I'll get one. This spending and spending on kitchen stuff is coming to an end, thank God, but I can buy that, too.

There is SO MUCH to learn. My food processor arrives today. I'm almost afraid of it, lol.
Depends on what the Dutch oven is made of. Not all ceramic pots can be used on the stove top. Enamel, cast iron, aluminium or stainless steel would be OK.