Career as a chef?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

j-spec

Assistant Cook
Hi, I am thinking about getting in the Culinary Arts as a career and was wondering if the pay is good. I would love to become a chef after I am done with school. What are your opinons on Pastery Chefs? Is it hard to move ahead in that job, I am mainly concern with the financial aspect of it..will I be able to make atleast 30-40k out of college? Also where do you guys recommend me starting out, since I have little to no experience? Thanks in advance!

j-spec said:
Hi, I am thinking about getting in the Culinary Arts as a career and was wondering if the pay is good. I would love to become a chef after I am done with school. What are your opinons on Pastery Chefs? Is it hard to move ahead in that job, I am mainly concern with the financial aspect of it..will I be able to make atleast 30-40k out of college? Also where do you guys recommend me starting out, since I have little to no experience? Thanks in advance!

Welcome to Discuss cooking. I think the pay rate would depend on where you live. If you live in a large city, you will be paid more, however your living expenses will be higher. My best advice would be to try out some cooking courses first, before you commit to culinary arts as your major in college (since you said you have no experience). Make sure cooking is something you truly love to do, because if it is to be a career, you must enjoy it to be satisfied in the long run. If you love it, you will become good at it, then will be able to work your way up the ladder to a pastry chef. If your good, the money will come. I'm sure many others on here can tell you more. Good luck! Hope you achieve your goals.

Great advice Amber.

Also I would work in a restaurant in your spare time, as an unpaid volunteer if need be.