Chef or Cook?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Constance

Master Chef
Is there a difference, in your opinion? Is a chef supposedly more educated or creative than a cook? Or do you think of a chef being the term for a male cook? Or is a chef a professional, and a cook a hobbyist?

I'm a cook but I'm not a chef. The guy at the hamburger grill is a cook, but not necessarily a chef. I would consider a chef as a person in charge of others in a kitchen and responsible the food and display from beginning to end.

Heck, many moms with a big family and kitchen could qualify as a Chef. :D

Chef is French for chief or person in charge. As Escoffier developed the kitchen brigade system for large hotel and restaurant kitchens, the term obviously stuck internationally.
Cook is an English term and denotes the person in the action of cooking. English households employed heads of kitchens who were know simply as "cook".

Both require not only knowledge of cuisine and competency in cooking, but also in ordering and management of portions, cost, and staff.

A major restaurant or Hotel dining room may employ many chefs (executive chef, sous chef, chef de cuisine, etc) and many cooks (line cooks: grill chef, saute chef, chef de guarde manger [cold kitchen], pastry chef) and on it goes.

not an easy set of words to differentiate as they can be used in so many ways.

Today you hire a cook or caterer for the home and you have hired a "personal chef" go figure!

i went to Chef school, till i have my diploma & own my kitchen, though, i will call myself a cook.

Well, what difference does it make as long as everyone is eatin' good? Potato, potaato, tomato, tomaato. You know? Popeye said it best. "I yam what I yam.":chef:

Well, what difference does it make as long as everyone is eatin' good? Potato, potaato, tomato, tomaato. You know? Popeye said it best. "I yam what I yam.":chef: