Chicken Problem!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snap410

Assistant Cook
I have cooked for some time and @ times not very successful. My question here today on Easter Sunday Is: Every time I cook a whole bird I CAN NOT get a crispy skin. I've followed every bodies instructions (Family members-friends) But to no Avail. Without going into what I have or have not done,can someone PLEASE direct me? Please start from the beginning like I'm a rank novice.Thank you:mad:

I rub over the entire bird with olive oil or canola oil, cover, then bake it, before taking it out of the oven, I remove the tin foil or pan cover and let it crisp in the oven - I do it by sight so, maybe 10-15 mins? Too long and your bird will be dry, so keep an eye on it. Also you may have to turn the temp of your oven up just a bit. If I'm cooking at 350, I turn it up to 400. Hope that helps.

Welcome to D.C.!!
If you are using a regular oven, you can baste the skin with some melted butter, seasoned with some salt, garlic powder, maybe some oregano or basil. That should do the trick. Of course, we could help you more if we knew what you had tried. Details.... we need details. :)

Thank you for your response. Please 4give me for my question which now I see had NO info. I'm new at this. Ok, I've tried the "Oven @ 450 for 1/2 then bringing It down to 350" I've also "Slathered It in butter" I've "covered It in Oil" You name It. My oven is fairly new & I did check the temp ith an independant thermometor, It's right on.So, I sit here scratching my head wondering what If anything I've done wrong. My Sister say's "She does nothing' I had Thanksgiving dinner there and watched. She did nothing unusual. The Skin was SUER CRISP. Go figure. She did Bast It,tho. Again,I thank you. Oh, I did sprinkle with Paprika, like a few people told me to do. Thank you,again

Last edited: