Cholesterol and Margarine, vs butter...Audeo if you can ple

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lifter

Washing Up
I have read the List's posts on margerine vs butter for some time, and am getting "mixed messages" as a result...

I we can agree, butter is just jammed full of chloresteral, and "is to be avoided"...

EVOO has the "LDL" chloresteral, as opposed the "butter" "HDL" (ie "bad") stuff, and so EVOO is not so neccessarily "bad" for you...

The "stick" margerines (ie the ones you buy as a solid "bar") are supposedly packed with trans-fats, (which the Canadian Government is about to just about "outlaw" or at the very least, post "food warnings" all over!)

I have been using "Becel" brand "tub" margerine for several years, as it is "allegedly" "free of trans-fats", "zero chloresteral" and "low in saturated fats"...

Recognizing that this might be the craftiest ad campaign going, and the "rules" are different south of the line, what do you Americans get "fed" as an "ad campaign" on the same issues?

Its an important issue, and one we should discuss...

Lifter

OK at the risk of having someone shoot me...I use butter. I know that anything that remains solid at room temperature is bad for you. Hydrogenated, non, trans fats...whatever!! I use Olive oil and butter and no margarine. I figure if I die I will die happy.

Smart man Lifter to get this discussion going, I look forward to more informed minds than mine commenting on this.

"smart man Lifter"???

Does this put me up for a "gender change"? Margaret will be furious! Aside from putting me on a "par" with her for being "smart"...

Alix, I think you should check out any "links" to eliminater possibilities of "retributions" on your comment!

I shudder to think what might happen to me while she checks that I'm still male...okay, I guess if I can't "forgive" that, I can at least offer my "thanks"...

Lifter