"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 07-08-2012, 11:39 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Commercial cooking.

Just curious, but as you guys know I'm new here, I was wondering everyone's experience in the kitchen. Be it commercial cooking, a foodie, or just dabbling with " the joy" cookbook.

Old 07-08-2012, 11:46 PM   #2
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

I've cooked in private kitchens as a caterer, in a bakery and restaurant kitchens and even a stint in the kitchens of a University cafeteria. I am currently a home cook, ever since I got my Nursing degree.

Old 07-08-2012, 11:53 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrincessFiona60
I've cooked in private kitchens as a caterer, in a bakery and restaurant kitchens and even a stint in the kitchens of a University cafeteria. I am currently a home cook, ever since I got my Nursing degree.
I LOVE baking. What style bakery? Breads, desserts, pre-ordered?
Old 07-08-2012, 11:56 PM   #4
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmhughes89 View Post
I LOVE baking. What style bakery? Breads, desserts, pre-ordered?
I've worked in a scratch grocery bakery and a Mom & Pop bakery. Usually working the front end, but I married the baker...

We did everything...I do not decorate cakes. All thumbs.
Old 07-09-2012, 12:07 AM   #5
Assistant Cook

I love decorating. That's one of the things that attracted me to cooking. I was going to school for architecture but my passion lied with cooking. The creation of food and the style and techniques intrigues and fascinates me.
Old 07-09-2012, 12:10 AM   #6
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

I enjoy the prep and cooking, I'll let someone else make it pretty. Even as a caterer, I told my clients to expect home cooked meals and they would look like home cooked meals.
Old 07-09-2012, 10:47 AM   #7
Head Chef