Cooking Shortcuts - looking for tips

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbadeaux

Assistant Cook
I've been cooking for 25+ years, learning to cook on the tug boats made it necessary to learn the most efficient cooking techniques and shortcuts. Now I cook because (well I just like cooking) I get home from work before my wife. Time is so much "of the essence" thesedays - I am always looking for tips to fix dinner a little faster, while maintaining quality. Oh yeah, my wife has food allergies so we cook "everything" from scratch. We'd appreciate any quick cooking tips, particularlyy pasta dishes for her and Cajun dishes for me (us). Thanks.

Well, all I can think of at this moment is to keep certain things already chopped and in the refrigerator or freezer. I have never been able to grasp the concept of making or planning meals ahead and freezing. My mind just won't work that way. I want everything to be made when I eat it but usually the most time-consuming thing is the chopping, dicing, and slicing so to me to keep diced onions and peppers in the freezer would save some time.

For the pasta dishes you could keep some different sauces already made in the freezer - just microwave -

On second thought - maybe I'm not the one that needs to be answering this question :roll: Hopefully someone will come along that will actually have a decent answer for you - good luck in the meantime. :mrgreen:

Thanks kitchenelf,

The idea of freezing "sauces" has some great potential for us. I'm shifting from fresh onions (and such) to diced, dehydrated with goooood results - you're right, peeling, rinsing and chopping is rather time consuming.

I'm going to try this new idea of freezing "sauces" this weekend; even if it just frees a day or two each week it'll be worth the time invested during the weekend.

James