Cooking Steaks - Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

buffwings

Assistant Cook
I cook steak all the time, basically weekly. I have the pan sear, finish in the oven down to a science.

My question is this...

Can anyone think of any issues if I pre-sear 4 steaks, and then finish them in an oven approximately an hour later?

I am bringing steak and eggs to a friends house and to save time and room in my friends kitchen, I was wondering if searing the steaks at my house first would work.

I cook often, and theoretically I think this would work, but I've never done it before and was wondering if anyone had any insight to this.

Agree. You really aren't doing the same thing if you wait an hour to put them in the oven. It seems to me that the interruption in the cooking process is bound to change the result.

Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking :)

I wouldn't do it, either. When you sear and then place in the oven right away, the steaks are still hot when they go in, so they're properly cooked when they come out (assuming they're in there for the correct amount of time). When you sear and then wait an hour to roast, they cool off. By the time you get them into the oven, it will take longer than the other method to get them hot again, so they will be overcooked.

I guess the only way you'd know for sure is to do it, but I wouldn't do it either. Start and complete at your friends house or not at all.

Last edited:
Welcome to DC! I wouldn't do it either, but was just thinking about your idea of searing ahead of time, then wrapping in tinfoil. Put in a small cooler, wrap in handwarmers or a wireless heating pad and a towel. It probably wouldn't be as good as if you seared them when you got there.

A little cheap grill or hibachi and a small bag of charcoal to sear in situ might be better, then you can leave it as a hostess gift.