Cream Cheese Subtlety

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crono760

Cook
I'm a new-ish home cook (started about 9 months ago), and I'm getting much better. I'm starting to throw things together that I feel will taste good. This generally goes well, except for today. The idea was to make a mushroom, onion, spinach, and baked potato mash bound together with cream cheese.

Well, with 2 reasonable sized potatoes, I used an entire block (1/2 lb) of cream cheese. The result was...un-cheerful. My father advised my to use only about a tablespoon of cream cheese.

My goal with the dish was to bring out the flavour of the cheese as a subtle undertone, and to really taste the onion/potato/mushroom thing. I don't think 1 tablespoon of cheese would have been enough.

So the questions are:

how much cheese would have been OK?
Should I have done away with the spinach, which was just boiled in a bit of water with some onion?

I'm also really not into using measurements while I cook. I don't like using x amount of anything. But I feel that this is one of those times where a bit of measurement would go a long way :)

Mike

I think the problem is the choice of cream cheese. To me that isn't a flavor that goes with potato, onion and garlic..

I think perhaps using a boursin herbed soft cheese might be a better way to go.

A lot depends on how much potato was involved. If you were making two potatoes for you and hubby, an ounce or two of cheese would have added a nice flavor. I agree with Jeff. Use a cheese with more flavor, such as an herbed goat cheese or Boursin.

I'm a new-ish home cook (started about 9 months ago), and I'm getting much better. I'm starting to throw things together that I feel will taste good. This generally goes well, except for today. The idea was to make a mushroom, onion, spinach, and baked potato mash bound together with cream cheese.