Do you know your onions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jikoni

Sous Chef
Well, I certainly don't but would love to . All these onions I see in the supermarkets, red, spring, yellow, cipollini and so on. They surely all can't be used in the same dishes right? And what dishes might these be? I normally reach out for the yellow onions and know not to burn them but saute them slowly to retain their natural sweetness whatever the recipe. So what about the rest? Anyone know?:chef:

Sizzles, I'm not an expert, but I can give you a couple of hints. I keep the hard yellow Spanish onions on hand to cook with, as they are good keepers, and have a strong onion flavor. I buy the large sweet yellow onions on a weekly basis for slicing or caramelizing.
The big red onions are pretty for salads.
I buy the little boiling onions for soups and stews.
By spring onions, are you referring to green onions/scallions? Chop these using tops and all for garnishes for soups and to add a zippy flavor to dips, spreads, oriental and Mexican dishes.
Shallots are a milder onion flavor, and nice for sauces.
Leeks are very mild also, and wonderful in soups, braised vegetables, or as a side dish.
As for the big white onions...the ones we get here are awfully hot.
I've recently started seeing the cipollini in the grocery store here...I haven't tried them yet.

Last edited:
I buy Texas Sweets quite often, Dina. They are wonderful.

Very informational website, Andy. Thank you!

Last edited:
Cipolline Onions are wonderful! They are quite mild and are lovely made in the following recipe and served with cocktails.

Alexa

Balsamic Glazed Cipolline Onions