Egg Cooking Issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tombenson

Assistant Cook
Hi everybody. My sister has kids and has been complaining recently worrying about cooking eggs whilst trying to do other things. I'm a final year design student and doing a bit of research to try and design something to help out. A few points have come up that i'd like to get a a few of your opinions on, and your help would be greatly appreciated!

a) Are there things (such as tending to the kids, hoovering etc) that you would like to be doing while eggs are boiling/ poaching?

b) Would you appreciate a product that times the eggs cooking then automatically removes them into cold water? this would allow you to be completely free to look after other things?

c) What other foods do you often boil? e.g. peas, carrots, rice?
Seriously your help is invaluable and I really appreciate it! If anyone needs any help with anything in return don't hesitate to ask.

Tom

Hard boiling eggs is very easy and requires little attention, so my general answer is no. If this is a big complaint for your sister thanthings must be going pretty well for her!:)

a. Poached eggs need to be watched pretty much constantly. Hard boiling eggs is simple and requires little attention, particularly if you use the method that takes the pot off the heat.

b. No. It's simple enough to take them off the stove and then go back to whatever you were doing.

c. I sometime boil vegetables and sometimes steam them or cook them other ways. In any event, vegetables do not take long to cook and need to be monitored for desired degree of doneness. I'd never let a gadget determine that for me. Rice cookers have already been invented and do a great job.