Foraging for edible plants and weeds, etc.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Snip 13

Master Chef
Couldn't find a thread about foraging so if I've searched like my behind then I apologise in advance :angel:

I've been planting, foraging and cooking with edible weeds for a few years now. Love the idea of finding your own food.

I'm no expert so I've been somewhat limited for choice.
If anyone gathers wild plants, herbs, weeds, fruits or anything else for that matter kindly post the names and pics (if you have) here. Would love to extend my knowledge.

I often gather purslane, chickweed, dandelions, amaranth, crab apples, nasturtiums and oxalis.

Recipes for how you use them would be appreciated too :)

i think oxalis is another word for sorrel, which i like for making sorrel soup. hard to find around here, though. it has this bright/fresh/sour flavor and can be added to a simple vegetable soup. a sorrel soup with barley and leeks is nice and needs no meat to shine....

Oxalis (aka wood sorrel) is shamrock-like:
It's a weed around here and spreads like crazy. It does have a nice, sour taste, but has oxalic acid, which can be poisonous in quantities.
image-2592821074.jpg

Another sorrel looks more like lettuce:
Again, oxalic acid, so not too much!

image-587449244.jpg

Nettles are OK, you boil the heck out of them, and they taste somewhat like spinach. Wear gloves, they sting!

I love Hen of the Woods mushroom, which comes out in the fall, and grows at the bottom of oak and elm trees.

Last edited:
When I lived in the country, I started foraging:
Wild strawberries (the absolute best) the plant looks like a regular strawberry plant, just smaller:

Alpine strawberries by tiny banquet committee, on Flickr

Dewberries, very nice berry which is obviously related to raspberries and black berries:
220px-Dewberry2627.JPG

Morels, the best tasting mushroom I have ever eaten: