French fries!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Basherrr

Assistant Cook
Hahaha. Humor to me. Watch Pee-Wee's Big Adventure. Anyway, I will be caveating my post for about the next 2 years as "I am relatively new to cheffery." I am making french fries in my sweet new electronic deep fryer. I want them to stop tasting like frozen steak fries and more like (*sighs and admits*) MacDonalds. Does anyone have good suggestions for french fries to make them most delicious? Do they need to be frozen before frying? Or do I need that dextrose and "beef flavor" MacDonalds adds? Any help would, as always, be greatly appreciated.

These are from "fresh" russet potatos from the Walmart. I think I'm looking more for a resemblance in texture, rather than taste.

Double fry them. Fry them till they are half ready. Take them out, let them cool. Then fry till they are done. Also make sure your temps are good. 350-375.

If you want the texture - double frying will definately allow you to get some crispy fries. On the first fry (the par-fry stage) use a temp of 325ºF and fry for 3-4 minutes (just till soft but not browned) then remove, drain on brown paper bags or paper towels, and allow to cool. At this point you can pat dry with paper towels, toss into a freezer zip bag and toss in the freezer for future use if you wish.

For the second frying - use a temp of 375ºF. If room temp - about 3-4 minutes (until golden brown) or about 7 minutes or so if starting from frozen.

For flavor - the fry oil does make the difference. Part of what made the McDonald's frys taste so good (back when they had Trans-Fat) was that the fry oil contained beef fat (not dextrose and beef flavoring).

Is "par-fry" something I should research? Have not heard this term yet. Thanks FtW :) I was in FtW for the Phillies beating the Rangers earlier this month, btw. It was AWESOME. Go Phils!