Green Bean Casserole

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Do you make/serve Green Bean Casserole?

• YES! We love this dish!

Votes: 11 37.9%
  • NO! Can't stand it!

Votes: 12 41.4%
  • Yes. I don't like it, but make it for others.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I don't care one way or the other

Votes: 6 20.7%

• Total voters

Andy M.

Certified Pretend Chef
This new traditional dish from the 50s or 60s seems to be everywhere around the holidays.

What's your opinion on this dish?

Last edited by a moderator:
I really don't like this dish. I used to love it but have gotten away from recipes made with canned soups.

I'm with you, I've outgrown it.

I try to use more fresh vegetables and homemade sauces when I cook. It gives me some small measure of control on what is going into the pot, it is cheaper and IMHO I am a better cook than the good folks at Campbell's:LOL:

Nothing against the concept. How can anyone be against green beans in a casserole? And a lot of people expect it and consider it a tradition. But the typical version is pretty hideous, with its oddly glutenous mushroom soup, plastic cheese, and greasy fried onions. Why not a far more pleasing body of a buttery sour cream or creme fraiche sauce with lots of garlic and a touch of cayenne, beans layered with sliced cremini mushrooms, an interesting cheese like Fiorii Sardo or even Grana Padano, and instead of being heavily crusted in those fried onions, a light, even topping of crisp fried shallots and the whole on a base of toasted crumbs of good bread. I don't mind opening a can for some things (okay - not many things), but this casserole tends to play a major role in holiday meals, and it's worth doing something well above usual public school cafeteria standard.