"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 02-23-2006, 10:53 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Grocery Shopping in Orlando FL

Hi,

I will be going to Orlando FL this September for business. I will be staying near Seaworld Park and International Golf Club on Westwood Blvd. This is my first time visiting. Could someone help me with my grocery selection? Like where to shop and what's seasonal food in September.

I'd like to cook something simple and mostly vegetarian. I am from Hawaii. Most of things are imported in. So, I love to eat some freshly grown fruits & vegetables.

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-24-2006, 06:30 AM   #2
Head Chef

I only spent about seven months in FL, so I'm far from an expert, but I did drive nearly 50 miles at least once a week to shop in Orlando while I was there.

Whole Foods Market in Winter Park (NE section of Orlando) on Aloma Avenue. They are the best spot I found while there for "health" food. Lots of organics, tofu stuff, grains, fish (ok, and meat, not that I eat any of it), a nice array of vegetables and fruits, cheeses. vitamins and other unique goodies. Well worth looking up!

The Fresh Market (near Universal Studios, off of Conroy, irrc) is also a great spot. It's similar to Whole Foods Market, only not quite as "granola-ee". But it is full of great food, fresh produce and some tasty sushi.

Another huge surprise for me while in Florida were the Target stores that had groceries! I can't remember the name of the street it was on, but it is near the Millenium Mall. The Target grocery store had nice produce and some great "whole food" selections mixed right in with the other stuff. I guess I was just impressed at the overall selection they had.

FL also has some nice farmer's markets, so be on the look out for those too.