"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 03-11-2010, 01:14 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Having trouble with some yeast (insert bad joke here)

Hey, I am just getting into the whole cooking thing and seems I tried to jump too far ahead. I was trying to make a cinnamon roll recepie and, well, had trouble at step 1 :(

The pertinant ingredients were:
1 teaspoon white sugar
1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
1/2 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)

And the step was:
In a small bowl, dissolve 1 teaspoon sugar and yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.

I tried this as best I could, but I lack a scale or anything so my research told me that 0.25 ounces of dry yeast was anywhere from 1.5 - 3 tsp depending on the source I found. My results, regardless of the amount of yeast I used was a frothy mixture on top with runny luquid under it. More yeast just meant more froth. Nothing even remotely close to this "creamy" it called for. I decided to hit the brakes and check before I wasted food making this. Am I doing something wrong, or is that you kids call creamy these days? :P

Thanks!

Old 03-11-2010, 01:29 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Don't pay any attention to the "creamy" remark. That can vary from brand to brand of packaged yeast. Just be sure to give the yeast time to really bloom (foam). Ten minutes, in my opinion, is a minimum amount of time. Twenty to thirty minutes would not be uncommon depending on the temperature in your kitchen. Temperature is what significantly effects bloom rate. And the longer the time, the more active yeast is developed, which is what you want.

Account for the amount of liquid you use to bloom your yeast when you add it to your flour, but pay no attention to its looks. Before I began using a "poolish" to develop my yeast, I did it just as you are describing. More often than not, it looked like tan dishwater.