"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 01-11-2010, 09:19 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Heavy Cream: HELP!

Hello. I'm a 24-year-old short-order cook, who will be attending culinary school this summer. I absolutely love cooking. It is a passion of mine. And what's more - I'm good at it. Real good. And the reason for this is because I never let someone try a recipe of mine until I have cooked it, tried it, and recreated it at least two or three times. LOL. But one recipe in particular I am working on, and one that I think is exceptionally good, is my Potato & Prosciutto Soup recipe.

But I'm having problems. I boiled the vegetables, prosciutto, and spices in a good stock, making sure the potatoes were just the right texture. Once done, I added the heavy cream and waited until it was hot, then tried the soup. It was exceptional. So I thought I'd let it cook a bit longer, in order to keep it warm for my wife. But when I tasted it again, it had a slight tang of an aftertaste, which isn't disgusting or bad, but a bit annoying. It did not have that tang when I tried it the first time, so I'm thinking I overcooked the heavy cream.

Is that possible? Are you not supposed to boil heavy cream? I have Googled it, and some say you can, and other's say not to. I'm just really annoyed that my soup tasted great, then, after cooking for awhile longer, changed in flavor. And I know it was the heavy cream that did it, because I made a mushroom sauce for chicken this evening, and it was great, until I let it cook a bit longer, then the tang aftertaste, which is starting to haunt me, showed its crude face again.

Please help! Am I cooking the heavy cream too much?

Old 01-11-2010, 09:34 PM   #2
Executive Chef