"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 04-24-2013, 03:08 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Smile HELP - Inexperienced, need advice!

Hi everyone.

I am embarking on a task to take myself from complete newbie in the kitchen to becoming a confident and decent cook.

As I'm guessing there are ALOT of people on here who are pretty confident of their ability and maybe some others that are just starting off too, I was wondering if anyone had any advice for someone that classes themselves as a terrible cook right now?

Any steps I should follow? Where should I start?

It's quite daunting at the moment.

Thanks

Old 04-24-2013, 03:45 AM   #2
Traveling Welcome Wagon

Joining Discuss Cooking is a good start. Next, get some basic cookbooks (you can even find them at the library and at used book stores. There are some cooking shows on TV that are helpful to see various techniques being used. You will want to begin with simple recipes that have few ingredients. You can find many, many, many recipes online through a simple search.

What are some dishes you especially like? Many DC members will be able to help you learn to make them and others.

Welcome to DC!

Old 04-24-2013, 03:50 AM   #3
Assistant Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbara L View Post
Joining Discuss Cooking is a good start. Next, get some basic cookbooks (you can even find them at the library and at used book stores. There are some cooking shows on TV that are helpful to see various techniques being used. You will want to begin with simple recipes that have few ingredients. You can find many, many, many recipes online through a simple search.

What are some dishes you especially like? Many DC members will be able to help you learn to make them and others.

Welcome to DC!

Thank you Barbara.