Help wanted for making hash brown potatoes golden

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I have good luck with the patties. I use the toaster oven rather than heat up my oven. It comes to temperature in a matter of seconds and gives a nice crispy browned crust.

I also have used loose shredded (frozen) hash brown potatoes:

I just have some cooking spray on the pan, press them into the pan, and when the bottom is about done, put under the broiler for a few minutes to brown the top. It holds together and I usually cut into quarters to serve.

I can make a breakfast jack sandwich and it takes me about 6 minutes.
I know this is a cop out, but I'm gonna try and quick fry Ore-Ida pre-cooked patties. I tried Toaster Patties, they're not so good.

Last edited:
For too many years I was a cook for Denny's, Azar's, Bennigans, Days Inn,
and a few other "greasy spoon" type restaurants. In every restaurant that
I worked in, we cooked the meat and Hash Browns on a 350° griddle.
At "Denny's" we use the dehydrated Hash Browns; we would put a handful of
them on the griddle, pat them down till they were about 1" thick then pour
a little oil on them. We didn't even turn them over...until we placed them
on the plate, that way they were crispy on the top, and light and fluffy on
the bottom.

I think you will get the best results from using the dehydrated Hash Browns.
I have seen them at King Soopers (Kroger), also both Costco & Sam's Club
sell them.

Personally I never use Canola Oil for anything because of the potential
health risks it represents. I think you will get the best results by using
Butter, or there is a brand of cooking oil that was use in some of the
restaurants I worked at. It is called "Whirl". Below is a link to their
website....I think Costco may sell it too.

Stratas Foods | Whirl

Costco Business Delivery - Whirl Butter Flavor Liquid 1 gal