How do I prevent burning syrup?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

robageejammin

Assistant Cook
Hey there! Complete cooking newbie here as you can probably tell from the title. I like cooking with maple syrup for lots of things. For example, when I make eggs, I'll mix the egg and any other ingredients (including some maple syrup) into a bowl, and then fry it up into a non-stick pan which I coated with butter/Pam. It comes out tasting great, but I end up setting off the fire alarm half the time. Any tips on preventing syrup from burning? Should I be cooking it slower? Anything I'm missing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, so thanks in advance! :)

Hey there! Complete cooking newbie here as you can probably tell from the title. I like cooking with maple syrup for lots of things. For example, when I make eggs, I'll mix the egg and any other ingredients (including some maple syrup) into a bowl, and then fry it up into a non-stick pan which I coated with butter/Pam. It comes out tasting great, but I end up setting off the fire alarm half the time. Any tips on preventing syrup from burning? Should I be cooking it slower? Anything I'm missing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, so thanks in advance! :)

If you are setting of the smoke alarm, then try lowering the heat. It may take a bit longer to cook the food, but maple syrup can be served without heating it up. It has already been 'cooked' in process of going from tree sap to maple syrup. Serve it separate over your eggs. Store at room temperature. If you must have it warm, then sit the bottle in hot water while your eggs are cooking.

And welcome to DC. I hope you stick around. This is a place of a lot of conversation and laughter. Along with a plethora of information regarding cooking and recipes. :angel:

Hi, and welcome to Discuss Cooking :)