"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 11-22-2008, 01:54 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

How do I use shallots?

Hi all,
My recipe calls for 3 large shallots and I've never used them before. Do I want the whole shallot or does that mean 3 bulbs? Thanks for the help.Happy Gramma

Old 11-22-2008, 01:57 PM   #2
Chief Eating Officer

It depends on the size. If they are small then use the whole thing as one. If they are large then each bulb can count as one. Shallots are one of those things that you usually do not need to be super precise in measuring.

Old 11-22-2008, 02:20 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

What size is large for a shallot?
Old 11-22-2008, 02:22 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

shallot bulb?

what size is average for a shallot bulb?
Old 11-22-2008, 02:43 PM   #5
Master Chef

Lynnhilton - just use & consider each "clove" as one "shallot", regardless of size.
Old 11-22-2008, 10:06 PM   #6
Master Chef

A shallot is covered in a brown papery skin - everything inside that skin makes up 1 shallot. I don't understand what you mean by "bulbs" .... here is a picture of 1 shallot:

The largest shallots I have run across are about the size of a golf ball, or a little smaller - most are smaller than that.

When substituting onion for shallots - 1 small yellow onion (a little smaller than a tennis ball) + a clove of crushed garlic is equal to 3 shallots.

Since the recipe isn't specific about an amount - go with what looks right to you.
Old 11-23-2008, 03:26 AM   #7
Sous Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by lynnhilton View Post
Hi all,
My recipe calls for 3 large shallots and I've never used them before. Do I want the whole shallot or does that mean 3 bulbs? Thanks for the help.Happy Gramma
Depends on where your recipe comes from Lynn