how long to reheat items in oven tomorrow?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jcais

Assistant Cook
beginner here

I've made two casseroles and the recipes say I can reheat the dishes in the oven tomorrow but they dont say what temp and how long.

does anyone know what the standard time is?

nevermind your nonhelp i just found it.

When You Reheat Food
Heat cooked, commercially vacuum-sealed, ready-to-eat foods, such as hams and roasts, to 140 °F.
Foods that have been cooked ahead and cooled should be reheated to at least 165 °F.
Reheat leftovers thoroughly to at least 165 °F. Reheat sauces, soups, and gravies to a boil.
On Stove Top-Place food in pan and heat thoroughly. The food should reach at least 165 °F on a food thermometer when done.
In Oven-Place food in oven set no lower than 325 °F. Use a food thermometer to check the internal temperature of the food.
In Microwave-Stir, cover, and rotate fully cooked food for even heating. Allow standing time. Heat food until it reaches at least 165 °F throughout.

I generally reheat with the conventional oven set at 350 degrees for approximately 30 minutes, depending on the item, thickness, size, and what temperature it's starting at.

If it's cold and/or fairly thick, I should think a minimum of 45 minutes.

Bring the food that you're reheating to room temp by letting it sit out for an hour or so before you reheat it. You also want to be careful about placing ice-cold casserole dishes in the hot oven - I've had a disaster or two with this! (Course they were old, cheapie dishes and in my much younger days!)

marmalady said: