"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 10-30-2012, 12:21 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

I burned a pot while trying to prepare a recipe.

I am a total amateur when it comes to cooking. Recently, I found a wonderful recipe and I attempted to create it at home following the instructions precisely. Here is the recipe.
I followed along with the video the entire time.

How to Cook Black Pepper and Molasses Pulled Chicken Sandwiches | MyRecipes.com

I added ALL the ingredients in a saucepan/pot.

Then I put the chicken in there, and cooked it for twenty minutes. After I removed the chicken, the bottom of my pot was all scorched and burned black, and the chicken was burned as well. What the heck did I do wrong?

Was I supposed to coat the pot with something before adding all the ingredients in? I am absolutely certain I didn't set the heat too high. I kept the heat at around low-medium. I have already managed to destroy three pots while trying to make this recipe. My parents are furious with me and I am feeling incredibly hopeless at this point.

I don't know what the hell I'm doing wrong and why this keeps happening so I am desperate for some advice from you guys.. Thank you.

Old 10-30-2012, 07:47 AM   #2
Executive Chef

Site Moderator

It may be that you needed to stir it more often. Do you have a gas or electric range? Sometimes a gas range will still be too hot even on medium low. Given the circumstances in your post, I am inclined to believe that there was too much heat or not enough stirring. The ketchup and molasses can burn quickly.
If the pan is not big enough, stirring might be tricky. Might need a larger pan. Personally, I would put the chicken in a baking dish, covered with foil, and bake it at 350 or so until it is nearly done. Then pour the heated sauce over the chicken and give it 15-20 minutes more in the oven.