"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 03-02-2014, 05:19 PM   #1
Head Chef

ISO help/advice with the proper quantity of yeast

I have been gifted a large quantity of yeast but it is in a form I have never used before. It is not granular. Is a solid brick of yeast which is at this moment frozen. Does anyone know how I would use this? How much would I use in a recipe for bread that calls for 3 cups of flour?

Old 03-02-2014, 06:08 PM   #2
Head Chef

Mine comes that way, but once it is opened, it is granular. Until then, it feels like a solid brick.

Old 03-02-2014, 07:00 PM   #3
Executive Chef

I seem to remember yeast used to come in little foil wrapped pkgs, similar to individual butter servings in restaurants.

If you have a food scale, you are home free. If not, perhaps set a stick of butter and eyeball up an approximate equivalent to however much you need.

Yeast Conversion Table | Red Star Original
Old 03-03-2014, 09:00 PM   #4
Executive Chef

Site Moderator

Is it instant yeast? When I buy that, it is in a brick, like vacuum packed coffee and feels solid, but once opened it is granular. It can be used the same as active dry yeast.

http://bakingbetter.com
bakechef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 06:22 PM   #5
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by joesfolk View Post
I have been gifted a large quantity of yeast but it is in a form I have never used before. It is not granular. Is a solid brick of yeast which is at this moment frozen. Does anyone know how I would use this? How much would I use in a recipe for bread that calls for 3 cups of flour?
If it's frozen it's probably "fresh" yeast (a contradiction in terms, I know) ie it isn't dried or instant yeast.