"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 02-02-2015, 08:07 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

ISO help/tips cooking rice on the stove

Hello,

I am a seasoned cook, but can't seem to cook rice on top of the stove. I have tried several "you tube" recipes and all have failed. Does anyone have a "foolproof" method you can share? I would appreciate it. Thanks.

Old 02-02-2015, 08:15 AM   #2
Senior Cook

Welcome to the forum, I never heard someone have a problem with this, what is actually happening?

I never put much thought into it but heres how I do it..

Bring water butter salt to a boil, add rice and lower heat from high to medium, when it starts to bubble and boil again, lower the heat once more just so it settles down, but still simmers and crackles {still want steam but not a rolling boil}... Now when the water is boiled off and the rice is softened up, remove it from the heat, cover it and let it sit for about 15 minutes in its own steam...

I guess your water to rice ratio could effect your results, or maybe the pan you use, I use a calphalon unison non stick and have no issues. You need to kind of know your pan and stove, if you don't turn it down low enough the last time you can burn to the bottom of your pan, if you turn it too low the rice swells more and can turn super mushy before the water is boiled off...

Give us a little more info on what your method is maybe we can point out an obvious flaw...

Old 02-02-2015, 08:22 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

I usually make one cup of rice to one and a quarter cup of water or flavored liquid. C42 has told you the basic way to make rice. If you send us more information as just what you are doing, we can help you more. Just how does your rice end up being?

Welcome to Discuss Cooking.
Old 02-02-2015, 08:29 AM   #4
Head Chef

I use this one and come out perfect every time

Perfect Rice Recipe : Patrick and Gina Neely : Food Network