ISO small, cheap, easy, healthy recipes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cupcakesprinkle

Assistant Cook
Currently I am Studying abroad in the UK for the semester. I am living in a flat with 6 other people and a very small fridge and storage space. I'm looking for suggestions for cheap, easy, healthy recipes without a lot of leftovers.

Any suggestions at all would be a huge help.

I understand your problem. It is hard to cook cheaply when you basically have to buy individual portions. Just an idea, maybe you and your roomies could, at least sometimes, cook a bigger meal that all could eat.

How about eggs? Make an omelet and add almost anything. Some tasty thigs to add are bacon and almost any cheese you want including blue, onions and peppers, crabmeat, lox and sour cream, tomato and mozzarella, the imagination is your only limitation. And there is always Mr. Google.

Can add almost anything to scrambled eggs also. My favorite is spinach, bacon, and shrooms.

Can always saute individual portions of meat in a small pan and then add some wine, chicken stock, marsala, vemouth to the pan with some flavorings including herbs, mustard, even some diced tomato and reduce a bit.

Just a few ideas.

In your case, it would be easier to just make a family-style dinner every night, and I'd say with 7 people there's a good chance of few leftovers.

Here's an idea: since there's 7, one person should be responsible for the groceries/meal for 1 night every week.

As for easy for that number of people, I'd recommend braised dishes, soups, stews, pasta dishes, and casseroles. Find yourself a whole chicken, a white onion, and some carrot/celery, some thyme, and stew in a pot on very low for a couple hours. Remove the meat from the bone/skin and toss in a bag of egg noodles and S+P to taste and you've got yourself a basic but delicious chicken noodle soup.