Learning to Cook - Recipes and Things to Cook

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jeni78

Senior Cook
Hi All,

So, I am 30 and just in the last several years or so have started learning to cook and bake.

I am looking for recipes and things to cook that will help expand my knowledge a bit and perhaps help me to be a little more self sufficient in the kitchen. By self sufficient I mean able to put something together without a recipe and able to substitute.

I realize that most of this is practice-trial-error and that my self sufficiency may not come for many years, but it seems like there are many people on here that work as chefs, have been to culinary school and/or have spent their lives cooking.

I am a horseback riding instructor so I have tons of "exercises" for people to do that will help them to ride better.

I'm wondering if there are "exercises" or recipes and things to make and practice on that can help a person develop better skills in the kitchen.

For example, I heard on tv that the ability to cook eggs well, in a variety of ways is a "basic" for a chef so I have almost done that.

I've also been trying to do everything from "scratch" (as in shopping the outer walls of the grocery store).

I am not desiring to be a chef or anything like that, but if anyone has any advice in this area, I would really appreciate it!

Oh, and I have TOO MANY cookbooks. Not that I'm not willing to take suggestions (because there will be more in the future), but I am somewhat of a "book collector" and one of my favorite things is cookbooks :)

This forum has helped me greatly already so THANK YOU I really appreciate it.

You can have a lot of fun getting to where you want to be.