Lentils with...?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thomasina

Assistant Cook
Hi guys!

I am a student about to move out of home and start my cooknig ventures!

I've recently discovered all the beans and legumes out there and really love lentils. But I'm not very confident with cooking yet and am wondering what I can or can't do with them! So here's a few questions :)

How do I cook lentils? How long for?

Can I put them in a casserole dish?

Can I stir fry them?

Can I have lentils by themselves? What do you like with them?

Can I cook lentils with peas?

Can I cook lentils with carrots?

Can I cook lentils with tuna?

Can I cook lentils with rice?

Can I cook lentils with tinned tomatoes?

What do I serve it with? Potatoes, rice, pasta? Or can I have it on its own?

Can I have them cold after I cook it? Can I reheat them?

I don't know what would go and what wouldn't ahhhhhh!

Are there specific recipes I must use only one kind for, red or.... other kind?

If I use enough olive oil can I still cook red lentils in a pan without it getting all stuck to the bottom when it goes sorta mushy?

If anyone can help and share the love of lentils with some easy recipes then please reply!

I am a dancer so need cheap, healthy food with lots of fibre and protein and this does the ticket!

Hi guys!

Hi Thomasina! Welcome to DC!

----
By Mayo Clinic nutritionist
Katherine Zeratsky, R.D., L.D.

Lentils are grouped with beans and peas as part of the legume family because, like all legumes, they grow in pods. Lentils are high in protein and fiber and low in fat, which makes them a healthy substitute for meat.

They're also packed with folate, iron, phosphorus, potassium and fiber.
Lentils come in three main varieties: brown, green and red. Most grocery stores carry brown lentils, usually dried. Green and red lentils may be found at specialty food markets.