Lobster

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Megcoci

Assistant Cook
I am we to this site. I am planning my Christmas eve menu. Would like to make lobster fra diavolo. Lobster is expensive and I I'll be serving 25 hungry adults. Instead of buying frozen lobster tails, I was thinking of buying the whole lobster. Need about 12 to 15 1 1/4 lb lobsters. Wantto know I can break off claws and tails, and freeze them until Xmas, if so, should I cook them first the freeze or just freeze uncooked. I plan on using bodies to mKe stock then freeze. Has anyone done this. Any advice?thanks

Coco

I wish I could be on your guest list! The recipes I looked at require 1 pound blanched lobster meat, from claws and tails to serve 4 hungry people, or 6 polite people. Serving 25 boggles my mind in terms of expense, not to mention application with serving so many people. I have limited experience with lobsters (left coast here) but someone will be along soon with lobster knowledge to help you. Till then, welcome to Discuss Cooking! :chef:

Last edited:
I deal with spiny lobster a lot. I always freeze the tails raw, simply wrapped in plastic wrap. The "vein" is always removed prior to freezing. I would be concerned with freezing the claws, whether cooked or not, because the fat may go rancid in the freezer. I would cook the claws, remove the meat from the shell and freeze it, making sure the fat is removed.

You can cook them first and clean out all the meat then freeze the meat (air tight) or in the water they were cooked in. All in all, I don't think you will yield enough meat to feed 25. You will need 1 1/4 lbs per person! Think about adding clams, mussels, scallops, shrimp etc. A Cioppino , only served over Pasta.

I agree with S&P. Each person a lobster, 1-1.25#. Or go with a seafood "feast" to "cheap'n" it up. Will also help have'n a cheese tray and other hor dourves(sp? am I :LOL:)