"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 07-18-2010, 06:01 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Meat/Grilling Question

Hello everyone, I am still pretty new to cooking and have really been loving it, i can barely eat fast food anymore, which is pretty amazing for me. I have really fallen in love with grilling.

And with that comes a question that has been confusing me. It is ok to buy larger cuts of meat and then cut it myself before marinading or rubbing? I dont have the patience to cook a tritip for 2 hours on low heat, i want it done in a few minutes, so basically, can i buy a tritip, slice it, then grill? Am i really losing all the juices like some websites say?

Another question, whats the easiest way to sautee onions? I love onions on my steak.
One more, steak butter, ive never had it, but im interested, any ideas?

Old 07-18-2010, 07:10 AM   #2
Master Chef

Site Moderator

When I am grilling I saute my onions on the grill using a Cast Iron skillet and butter.

I've never cooked a tri-tip, I usually grill NY Strip or Porterhouse or flank steak for making fajitas.

Old 07-18-2010, 07:11 AM   #3
Flour Child

Being the expert griller that I am...cough cough....i'll just stick with the steak-butter question .

I like to saute 2 TBSP of fresh herbs (rosemary, thyme) and about 5 big cloves of garlic in a pan. Be careful not to burn the garlic...it happens in a twinkling of an eye. Then add it to a pound of softened butter, some fresh ground pepper, and fresh lemon juice from a 1/2 lemon. Refrigerate. Lasts up to a month.

If you aren't already, you should try growing your own rosemary and thyme...they're hardy and my rosemary is perennial here in NC. Must haves for any cook. Cheers

. My kitchen is for dancing. Bring me sunshine in a cup~emily dickinson. Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
mollyanne is offline   Reply With Quote