Meat/Grilling Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Keithtopia

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone, I am still pretty new to cooking and have really been loving it, i can barely eat fast food anymore, which is pretty amazing for me. I have really fallen in love with grilling.

And with that comes a question that has been confusing me. It is ok to buy larger cuts of meat and then cut it myself before marinading or rubbing? I dont have the patience to cook a tritip for 2 hours on low heat, i want it done in a few minutes, so basically, can i buy a tritip, slice it, then grill? Am i really losing all the juices like some websites say?

Another question, whats the easiest way to sautee onions? I love onions on my steak.
One more, steak butter, ive never had it, but im interested, any ideas?

When I am grilling I saute my onions on the grill using a Cast Iron skillet and butter.

I've never cooked a tri-tip, I usually grill NY Strip or Porterhouse or flank steak for making fajitas.

Being the expert griller that I am...cough cough....i'll just stick with the steak-butter question :).

I like to saute 2 TBSP of fresh herbs (rosemary, thyme) and about 5 big cloves of garlic in a pan. Be careful not to burn the garlic...it happens in a twinkling of an eye. Then add it to a pound of softened butter, some fresh ground pepper, and fresh lemon juice from a 1/2 lemon. Refrigerate. Lasts up to a month.

If you aren't already, you should try growing your own rosemary and thyme...they're hardy and my rosemary is perennial here in NC. Must haves for any cook. Cheers

Ditto, Molly! I just made some easy butter w/minced raw garlic, cayenne, blk pepper, k.salt, paprika. Great on steaks.

I do the same as Dave on the onions, but usually add bacon or bacon grease. It's good for the heart......Dr.'s boat pymt.