"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 08-20-2009, 09:53 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Meat Thermometer

I just bought an instant meat thermometer and tried it. I was just cooking a chicken breast (about an inch in thickness) and even when the chicken was ready, the thermometer still read 120F. I became suspicious so I cut it and of course, the chicken was done.

I tried putting the thermometer in boiling water to test it and found out that unless the stem was dipped in about 2 inches, it would not come close to displaying the right temperature (it actually still read lower than 212F but closer than when it was dipped in about an inch deep, which read about 180F.)

Is there a recommended meat thermometer? Do people even use them????

Old 08-20-2009, 10:00 PM   #2
Executive Chef

I use a Polder magnetic digital thermometer/timer with oven proof probe. I've been using it for 4 years and have no complaint.

Old 08-20-2009, 10:03 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef

I have this one: Amazon.com: CDN Proaccurate Stainless Digital Thermometer: Home & Garden

I'm very happy with it. You should definitely go with a digital model rather than a dial type.

With any thermometer, you must insert an inch or two of the probe into the meat, aiming to get the point as near as possible to the center of the thickest part of the meat.

Test yours with boiling water and a cup or small bowl filled with water and ice. It should be within 1 or 2 degrees F of the targeted numbers. Dial type thermometers are adjustable. Usually by turning a nut under the dial.
Old 08-21-2009, 12:09 AM   #4
Head Chef

One of the best instant read thermometers is the Thermapen, but it's also quite pricey. I use mine all the time, and all it takes is just inserting the tip to get a good reading. I also have a Thermoworks probe thermometer for roasting, and it works very well too.
Old 08-21-2009, 08:31 AM   #5
Chief Eating Officer