Meatloaf??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

daniellecharmaine

Assistant Cook
I am a beginning cook. I was wondering if anyone had some easy recipes for making a great meatloaf or just some quick tips? Pleas and Thank You!!:chef:

Quick tip...put a tiny bit of nutmeg in your meatloaf. It really enhances the flavor of any meat I use. I never make the same meatloaf twice but nutmeg always gets added.

There are as many meatloaf recipes as there are cooks. Some folks use just ground beef. Others use some combination of beef, pork, veal, turkey, chicken.

In general meatloaf should contain one or more eggs to act as a binder to hold the loaf together and breadcrumbs, oatmeal, etc. to give it the right texture and absorb some of the liquids.

Seasonings, herbs, spices, cheese, BACON!, and some type of tomato sauce are often used.

I'd bet there are hundreds of meatloaf recipes on this site to choose from.

Here's a recipe to get you started:

MEAT LOAF

1 Onion
2-3 Garlic
⅓-½ Green Bell Pepper
4 Mushrooms
½ tsp Thyme, dry
¼ C Parsley (2 Tb dry)
⅓ C Romano Cheese, grated
2 Lb Ground Beef (85-88% lean)1
½ Tb Salt
⅛ tsp Black Pepper
⅔ C Bread Crumbs
1 Ea Egg
¼ C Ketchup
1 Tb Soy Sauce
⅛ tsp Cayenne Pepper

Preheat the oven to 350º F.

Place the first seven ingredients into a food processor and process until almost pureed.

Place the meat in a large mixing bowl; add the vegetable mixture from the food processor and the remaining ingredients.

Thoroughly combine the ingredients.

Pack the mixture into a loaf pan to shape the meat.

Cover a sheet pan with foil or parchment paper.

Invert the loaf pan onto the sheet pan and unmold the meat loaf.

Insert a thermometer probe into the center of the loaf and set to 155º F.

Bake until the set temperature is achieved, about 1 hour and 15 minutes.