Microwave Roux?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sgt. Pepper

Assistant Cook
As a Kentucky born-and-bred "Cajun wannabe", I've been cooking Cajun food for 10 years or longer now. I've read many books about Cajun cooking, studied it in somewhat great detail, and have become quite good at cooking Cajun dishes (at least that's what they tell me). Anyway, I make my roux the old school way...flour and oil over medium heat, stirring constantly for 15-30 minutes. The result is almost always perfect. While surfing around today, I read on gumbopages.com that you can make a roux in the microwave, in a shorter time, and without all the stirring (even though Chuck Taggart scoffed at the idea). I know all you old schoolers are gonna say there is now way you can make a good roux in the microwave, but I was wondering if anyone has done it and what the results were? I'd like to hear pro or con reviews on this topic if you've tried it. Until then, I'll be standing over my stove, stirring my "Two beer roux" (as Mr. Bam Pow Ah Yeah Babe Kick It Up A Notch, calls it), sweating and trying not to splash the Cajun Napalm on my flesh! :D

I've heard of the microwave method. There is also an oven method for making roux.

If it works, it would be a great timesaver. Give it a try and do a side-by-side comparison test - sort of a cajun Pepsi challenge!

...and of course, let us all know how it works out!

Like I said in the other forum, roux has got to be stirred constantly - none of this 30 second interval garbage.

Are you looking to make a 'labor of love' or a 'labor of like?' :)

I'm getting a lot on this topic on another board. Click the link if interested.

Sorry Sgt. Pepper - link was removed - please feel free to post here and chat with us but the rules plainly state no links to other sites, sorry :-(