"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 01-09-2005, 11:17 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Microwave Roux?

As a Kentucky born-and-bred "Cajun wannabe", I've been cooking Cajun food for 10 years or longer now. I've read many books about Cajun cooking, studied it in somewhat great detail, and have become quite good at cooking Cajun dishes (at least that's what they tell me). Anyway, I make my roux the old school way...flour and oil over medium heat, stirring constantly for 15-30 minutes. The result is almost always perfect. While surfing around today, I read on gumbopages.com that you can make a roux in the microwave, in a shorter time, and without all the stirring (even though Chuck Taggart scoffed at the idea). I know all you old schoolers are gonna say there is now way you can make a good roux in the microwave, but I was wondering if anyone has done it and what the results were? I'd like to hear pro or con reviews on this topic if you've tried it. Until then, I'll be standing over my stove, stirring my "Two beer roux" (as Mr. Bam Pow Ah Yeah Babe Kick It Up A Notch, calls it), sweating and trying not to splash the Cajun Napalm on my flesh! :D

Old 01-09-2005, 11:58 AM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

never tried it, Sarge. I prefer to have the two beers!

Old 01-09-2005, 01:56 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef

I've heard of the microwave method. There is also an oven method for making roux.

If it works, it would be a great timesaver. Give it a try and do a side-by-side comparison test - sort of a cajun Pepsi challenge!

...and of course, let us all know how it works out!
Old 01-09-2005, 05:28 PM   #4
Senior Cook

Send a message via Yahoo to pst1can
heh Sgt....I have never tried it but would be interested in any test results you muster up.
Old 01-10-2005, 01:32 AM   #5
Senior Cook

Like I said in the other forum, roux has got to be stirred constantly - none of this 30 second interval garbage.