"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 01-08-2006, 04:13 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Never cooked before...

Hey...I'm new to this forum. So let me introduce myself!

I'm Brian...I'm 18 and I'm a freshman at Cal State University, Fresno. I've never cooked anything before (I've set some brownies on fire by accident though) and I'm really getting tierd of going out to eat every single day. Can someone give me some easy stuff to cook...and how to make it and stuff. thanks!

Old 01-08-2006, 04:18 PM   #2
Head Chef

Welcome, Brian - interesting nic...

What kinds of things do you like to eat? I'm sure we can send lots of ideas your way...

callie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 04:20 PM   #3
Executive Chef

Watch a lot of cooking shows. Every day. You can get the recipes but you'll need someone to teach you some sort of technique. That in itself is much more important then the recipes.

Just don't watch Emeril Live.
Old 01-08-2006, 04:23 PM   #4
Executive Chef

Send a message via Yahoo to Dina
Welcome Brian! I've always thought that if anyone can read and know the basic measurements, they can very well follow a recipe and cook. I would suggest you get ahold of some essential herbs and spices, your favorite staples (pastas, rice, legumes) and some good cuts of meats and poultry and visit us here often. You've come to a great place full of awsome cooks.
Old 01-08-2006, 04:24 PM   #5
Assistant Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by callie
Welcome, Brian - interesting nic...

What kinds of things do you like to eat? I'm sure we can send lots of ideas your way...
Well...I like burgers, pizza, tacos, shrimp, anything thats fried, Um...I dunno I never really eat good stuff anymore
Old 01-08-2006, 04:28 PM   #6
Senior Cook