"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 02-12-2009, 12:09 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Send a message via AIM to TheProphecy Send a message via MSN to TheProphecy Send a message via Yahoo to TheProphecy
Smile New to cooking

Hi, i'm new to cooking and I wanted to know the basics of cooking such as the utensils and precautions. May anyone tell me some, please? Thanks :)

Old 02-12-2009, 12:23 PM   #2
Assistant Cook

Re: New to cooking

What type of untensils are you looking for?????

Precations:

1. BE CAREFUL NOT TO BURN YOURSELF.

to be continued.

Pioneer College Caterers
Assistant Chef and Pasta Saute Chef
Chef Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 12:24 PM   #3
Executive Chef

What's your budget? We can recommend all sorts of things but if you only have a couple hundred or less, it won't do you much good. There are certainly basics that everyone uses, but my basics might not be someone elses.

1. What do you want to cook?
2. Do you have favorite foods you want to learn?
3. What do you know how to cook?
4. Cooking or baking? Which do you want to do more of?

Maybe if you can give us some guidelines, it might help us tell you what you want.
Old 02-12-2009, 12:54 PM   #4
Head Chef

The Basics:
  • pots and pans
  • set of knives
  • cutting board
  • kitchen utensils -- large spoon, spatula, whisk, scrapers, etc.
Good to Have:
  • casserole dishes
  • roasting pans
  • baking pans
  • kitchen timer
  • instant-read cooking thermometer
  • mixing bowls
  • colander
  • strainers
You don't need to buy it all at once, and you should put off buying things like an electric mixer or food processor until you have the other stuff and are sure you want to get more involved with the kitchen.

Also, get a good basic cookbook. I suggest something with photos, a wide variety of recipes, and step-by-step instructions, such as the recently published Taste of Home Winning Recipes.