Ok, how can I tell the difference between dry basil and dry marjoram?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mirage1202

Assistant Cook
Basil and marijoram?

They are both dried and I got them both from the bulk food store?

Can you tell Im a newbie at cooking???

Marjoram is very similar to oregano in flavor and aroma. If you have any dried oregano in the cupboard, try sniffing them side by side and see if either of your new dried herbs smell like the oregano.

I know I'll upset someone when I say this, but I've always detected a hint of "cat pee" smell in dried basil (and sometimes fresh basil and mint too). Don't get me wrong, I LOVE basil, and no, I don't love cat pee....

But that might help you distinguish between the two. Also, I would say that the basil would have a more floral undertone wile the marjoram was a tad deeper and earthier. Just generalizing here. Tough question, but fun to think about!

LOL you're not alone! Dry basil smells nothing like fresh basil to me! I smelled something but you just put your finger on it for me!!!!

I've said the same thing for years too Jill. I can't grow basil in the house for that very reason. LOL.

Go to Google Images. There are photos of each there.

Cat urine is included on a wine aroma wheel and is an aroma that I can often detect in certain white wines, (whre it can be pleasant, actually...:-p) but IMO not in basil.

Go to Google Images. There are photos of each there.

Cat urine is included on a wine aroma wheel and is an aroma that I can often detect in certain white wines, (whre it can be pleasant, actually...:-p) but IMO not in basil.

That white wine would be Sauvignon Blanc.

mirage1202 - my best advice to you would be to go back to where you bought them - take your herbs with you - tell the people who work there you need to know which is which.

I fully understand the fresh basil/cat pee reference.