"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 03-27-2009, 01:42 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Olive oil and foodnetwork...

So I notice on alot of food network shows, alot of the different chefs like to use olive oil, and they have it in a clear glass jar. And alot of times when they use it, they keep pouring and pouring and pouring and almost half the jar is gone... i mean...isn't that kinda costly if you do that all the time? I'm kinda new to cooking but I just bought a bottle of extra virgin for around 13 dollars a few weeks ago

Old 03-27-2009, 01:45 PM   #2
Everymom

I think the oil they are using is likely not extra virgin. Extra virgin is better as a finishing oil, for salads etc. An olive oil from a later press is probably what they are using. And really...they aren't paying for it are they????

Old 03-27-2009, 01:51 PM   #3
Executive Chef

I prefer to cook lightly using less oils and fats than many recipes call for. Especially in sautes one can reduce the oil by 1/3 quite often. But there is often a disconnect between what they say...a tablespoon, and what they pour...a half a cup!
Old 03-27-2009, 01:57 PM   #4
Master Chef

they get silly as putty with thier olive oil!!!!!
i'm used to 1 tbsp. or 1 oz fer roux & mirepoix. not enough to produce a greasy meal!!
Old 03-27-2009, 02:33 PM   #5
Cook

Send a message via MSN to Asmodean Send a message via Skype™ to Asmodean
Agreed. Oftentimes one doesn't even need more than a tsp. oil in a mirepoix if the vegetables have enough water in them and can cook down enough! Though oil is good for flavoring, the amount used in anywhere but my house seems ridiculous! :)
Old 03-28-2009, 09:26 AM   #6
Master Chef

I use both EVOO, when I want the flavor, and Light or Pure (refined OO) when I don't want the pronounced flavor of EVOO or I want an oil with a higher smoke point than EVOO.