Pizza Stone Vs. Pizza Steel?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WhatDoesItTasteLike

Assistant Cook
Hey there, first off lemme just say that I'm new here and this is my first post. I've been cooking for about 11 years now.

So from what I've looked up and gathered regarding platforms for cooking pizza...

Pizza Stone
+Cheaper than pizza steel
+More even heat distribution
+Doesn't require conditioning
-Breaks from sudden temperature change
-Doesn't get as hot

Pizza Steel
+Doesn't easily break
+Gets hotter than pizza stone
-Requires conditioning
-Not as even heat distribution
-More expensive

My first question is, can anyone confirm any of this? What do you prefer for making pizza and what were your experiences?

But onto my main question: there was an episode of Binging with Babish (guy who knows how to cook stuff, if you're not familiar) where he used a pizza steel to put the pizza on on the bottom rack, and the rack above it he put a pizza stone on: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUu2gJn1dzc @ 2:49

He did not however explain why he thinks this is good for cooking pizza. Is anyone familiar with this technique, and if so, why would you do this? Thanks!

I use a stone. Both of the outdoor cookers I use can get to 900F, so temperature isn't a problem. Most of the time though, we grill our pizzas on the grate. I also use wood as part of the fuel.

Ive done something similar when cooking on the grill. For my purposes, it concentrates the heat into a more refined area.

ON the grill the bottom of the pizza cooks quicker than the timer it takes for the cheese on top to melt.

Since heat rises, the stone above the pizza captures some of the heat, and keeps it where you want it for a more even cooking temp.