"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 01-30-2013, 10:56 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Please Help. I'm new at cooking.

Ok so about 2 weeks ago I shredded 5-10 lbs of potatoes. I noticed they were slightly red/brown after shredding but didn't think anything of it. Then I put the hashbrowns/shredded potatoes in the freezer.

Fast forward to today. I decide to make hashbrowns. I take them out of the freezer and they are completely dark brown/black.

What do I do? Can I still eat them or are they ruined?

Any replies are appreciated. Thanks.

Old 01-30-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
Senior Cook

Yes they are ruined. Potatoes are notoriously difficult to freeze in any form. You exposed the starch in the potatoes to the air and it turned brown. Freezing the moisture in potatoes just ruins the texture too boot. Sorry about that. Even people who attempt to freeze soup that contains potatoes end up with a 'slimy' soup. IMO if you want to be able to take a few frozen potato 'somethings' out of the freezer buy some commercially made ones. They do something to make them palatable......just. LOL

Old 01-30-2013, 11:11 AM   #3
Assistant Cook

Thanks for the reply. I have no clue what I'm doing so I definitely appreciate the help.
Old 01-30-2013, 11:16 AM   #4
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by puffin3 View Post
. They do something to make them palatable......just. LOL
Sulfates, sulfites, sulphides, and I think they are all IQF nowadays..soo, yeah..what puffin3 said. Just buy some frozen product. One less headache on a Sunday morning...

Or, you could make them fresh. Which would be a bit more involved...
Old 01-30-2013, 11:28 AM   #5
Executive Chef