Practising a roux

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andre2807

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone.

I'm a novice home cook and trying to find ways to practice making a roux.

I've tried making a cheese sauce for Mac and Cheese, but I made a lot of mistakes.

I used too much butter (3 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp flour); - the butter to flour ratio is 1 part butter and 1 part flour?
I was impatient when adding the three cups of milk
The pot was too hot when I added the cheese...

Is there a way I can practice making the roux without completely messing up the dinner?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bynJX7S3pOQ

As you mentioned, its usually a 1 to 1 ratio butter to flour.
The heat has to be high enough, but not too high.
Butter completely melted, then add the flour.
Mix the melted butter and flour together until it becomes a homogeneous mixture.
Constant mixing is required
DO NOT WALK AWAY, making a roux requires %100 attention at all times or it will stick/ burn...
Add the liquid ( Milk) slowly, while Whisking.
Be careful, as the liquid will thicken quickly, bubble and splatter. It sometimes helps to periodically take it off the burner ( while whisking) to kind of control the temp and make sure nothing is sticking to the bottom.
Once the mix has thickened, and looks creamy and homogeneous, then you can add the cheese, kinda whisk it together until homogeneous again.

Key things to remember:
- 1:1 Ratio fat to Flour
-Hot but not too hot
-%100 attention, do NOT walk away
-Constant mixing/whisking
-Slowly add the liquid (milk)
-Constant whisking/ remove from heat periodically to control temp and prevent sticking
-Add Cheese/ whisk
-Done

Hi everyone.

I've tried making a cheese sauce for Mac and Cheese, but I made a lot of mistakes.

I used too much butter (3 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp flour); - the butter to flour ratio is 1 part butter and 1 part flour?