Problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DomNealSmith

Assistant Cook
What in your opinion is wrong with most kitchen products, or what do you normally have difficulty with in the kitchen that you always seem to do?

Welcome to D.C.!
I can't say that I have any real "difficulties" in the kitchen. That is not to say that I haven't had rough patches to get through in the past. Patience and practice over the years have allowed me to come to a greater understanding of the cooking process. I am still learning and, no doubt, will continue to learn the art of cooking.
If by "kitchen products" you mean tools and appliances, There are very many examples of a good principle or idea that is poorly or cheaply executed. Many products mass produced these days are merely reiterations of previous solutions to perceived kitchen needs. I look for quality these days when considering purchases of such items. In truth, I have nearly all the tools I truly need. There are one or two items I wouldn't mind having, but I doubt I really need them. The Breville smart grill comes to mind.

Always keep your knives sharp. If you don't know how to sharpen them properly, look on YouTube for instrux or find someone to teach you. It is a useful skill that will make your kitchen work much easier on a regular basis.

If you haven't got, or want a crock pot/ slow cooker, look for them at yard sales or thrift stores. The older models cook at a lower temp, so they truly are slow cookers. Today's models run at a much higher temperature. The ones with removable crocks are the best.

Oh, and whether it's a new or new to you crockpot, use it the first time while you are home until you have tested it out. Don't just think you can set it and forget it while you are at work until you know how it performs.

Last edited: