Product Design student looking for input

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Student-CookingResearch

Assistant Cook
Hello,

My name is Scott and I am a student at the Cleveland Institute of Art studying Industrial Design. I am working on the research portion a project to identify inconveniences of cooking and ways to improve the cooking experience.

By "cooking experience" I mean everything that comes before and after cooking. Things like meal planning, grocery shopping, preparation, cleanup, etc.

I have found this website to be very helpful in understanding the many ways that people cook and various strategies involved. I'm very curious about what you all have to say as it's been extremely insightful so far, which brings me to my question:

What are your favorite and least favorite parts of the cooking experience? (and please let me know if I've missed something important)

I look forward to the discussion

Thank you,
Scott

Last edited:
This may sound dumb, but I like to prep all my veges, onion, meat before starting to cook even a small family dinner and always hate either having to dirty a lot of little bowls to hold them or having to push them into little piles on my chopping board and then get some of the ingredients mixed together. I think a cool product for the home cook would be some kind of board with little bowl like holes or separate compartments kind of like a TV dinner tray could be used to store the chopped ingredients so you only have one item to toss into the dishwasher. Obviously not good for big meals or commercial use, but as long as you're looking for something new........

It's all useful information! Nothing is too silly. It's great to hear the different ways that people cook. That's essentially what I'm looking for. Thanks.