Pumpkin butter uses and recipes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DumbSheila

Assistant Cook
My husband and I went to a farm today a few towns over that makes homemade cheeses, jams, and butter. I bought a jar of pumpkin butter bc it sounded so good!! Only I don't know what to do with it.

Any ideas? Obviously toast is the most obvious choice but I'd like to try to cook with it (but nothing too complicated, as I'm a complete amateur) if I can.

Ideas are welcomed! Thanks!

In addition to using it as a spread it makes a fantastic glaze for pork loin.

Here's my recipe:

1 quart plumpkin puree
2 cups brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp powdered ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp powdered cloves

Mix all ingredients over a low fire. Simmer until thick, stirring frequently to avoid scroching.

To make the puree, you can either roast the pumpkin or boil it. I prefer roasting, because boiling adds additional moisture, which has to be cooked off.

FWIW: USDA recommends against home canning of pumpkin butter. Most people I know ignore that warning, but you should know about it.

Thanks! I had no idea about the pumpkin butter canning stuff. Why is that? It's from an actual company (just looking at it, I see it's made in Maryland and the farm we went to just sells it...I thought they made it on site but I guess I was wrong!).

The pork tenderloin sounds so good. I wonder if my husband will like it.

For the pumpkin purée, what do you get? pumpkin pie filling? Or something different? I have no idea about pumpkin stuff outside of the filling.

Pumpkin puree is merely cooked pumpkin that's been mashed or blended into a puree.