"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking
Old 04-20-2010, 04:10 PM   #1
Senior Cook
Question about grilling Frozen Meat

Hi, I'm a complete amateur at cooking, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. I couldn't find an answer anywhere.

I just got an enameled cast iron grill pan from Le Creuset to upgrade from my Foreman Grill. With my Foreman Grill, I was very elementary with my cooking techniques. For example, I never thawed meat. I just placed it on the Foreman and let it do its thing.

That said, the cast iron grill pan is more high maintenance, from what I've read, because the moisture from the meat will stick to the grill. Never had that problem with the Foreman, so this is new to me.

I did a search, and everybody just had techniques on thawing. But my questions are more technical.

1. I understand if I buy fresh meat, and I decide to store it in the freezer, I'll need to thaw it the conventional way (stick in the fridge for a day). However, I tend to buy a lot of frozen meat that come in bulk. These all usually come with simple instructions on defrosting (sticking it in the microwave). The products will say that the taste and moisture will stay in tact, due to their microwave safe bag that preserves the flavors, etc etc. So my question is, is this technique that is promoted by these frozen products, approved by veteran cooks? Is it okay to just stick these in the microwave without the end product being significantly degraded, than had I thawed it conventionally?